Motor Racing Legends Steal the Show at Spa Six Hour


Motor Racing Legends stole the show at this year’s Spa Six Hour event with their stunning Stirling Moss Trophy and Woodcote Trophy grid. Sixty cars lined up for the start of the hour long race for 50s Sports Cars and Sports Racers.

Walk the grid to take in incredible range of rare and exotic classic racers :

Turn up the volume to hear the rolling start:

At the end of the race it Chris Ward who took the overall race honours in the JD Classics Lister Costin. The pole sitting Lister Knobbly of Jon Minshaw and Phil Keen was hot on the tail of Ward in the early laps but retired by lap 9 with a broken clutch leaving the road clear for a number of competitors.  The Tojeiro Jaguar of Max Girado and James Cottingham briefly took the lead during the pit stop reshuffle but dropped down to fourth after their own stop. And it was the Lotus 15 of Michael Gans who closed the gap significantly to finish second overall to Chris Ward and David Hart in his Lister Costin who was third. The Tojeiro Jaguar of Girado and Cottingham had to settle for fourth in the end with the Lister Costin of Chris Milner and Nigel Greensall rounding out the top five.

In the Woodcote Trophy race the pole sitting Jaguar D-Type of Gary Pearson and Carlos Monteverde romped home effortlessly to take the win, the monster 6680cc Allard J2 of Tim and Oliver Llewellyn were right on the Jaguar’s tail before the stops and took the lead for the middle part of the race, but places reversed once the Allard pitted and this was the order they finished.  The Lotus 10 of Paul Malcolm and Rick Bourne looked to be comfortably picking up third place, however a last lap lunge by the Cooper T38 of Fred Wakeman and Patrick Blakeney-Edwards snatched it away from them, leaving Bourne/Paul to finish in 4th position and the Cooper Bristol T24/25 of Nick Wigley and and John Ure a close fifth.